Other BT PLC sections

BT in England

Map of English regionsIn England we are putting BT at the heart of local communities.

We work locally in each in geographical areas across England, Wales and Scotland to better understand and respond to the needs of local people and business.

We work to develop solid strategic relationships with the local authorities, the Local Enterprise Partnerships, key stakeholders, business and community organisations to focus on the success and growth of local economies.

Each geographical area has a Regional Chair, a senior BT manager (usually at director level) who lives in the area and understands its make up.

Each Regional Chair leads a Board made up of representatives of each main organisational part of BT and this makes for a strong team of cross-company expertise and capability. The Regional Chair is supported by a Regional Partnership Director whose remit is to work on the ground to develop and support locally based projects in partnership with the local authorities, Local Enterprise Partnerships and other business, governmental, charitable, and social enterprise organisations.

Geographical areas ( as defined by the EU - NUTS 1 statistical regions)

East Midlands: Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire.

East of England: Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Suffolk plus Luton, Peterborough, Southend-on-Sea, Thurrock.

London: Greater London.

North East:  Durham, Northumberland plus Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside / Sunderland, Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees.

North West : Cumbria, Cheshire, Lancashire plus Bolton, Bury, Knowsley, Liverpool, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, St. Helens, Salford, Sefton, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan, Wirral, Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, Halton, Warrington.

South East: Kent, East Sussex, West Sussex, Surrey, Hampshire, Berkshire, Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire, plus unitary authorities of Milton Keynes, Southampton, Portsmouth, Brighton and Hove, and the Isle of Wight.

South West: Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset, Wiltshire plus the unitary authorities of Bath and North East Somerset, Bournemouth, Bristol, North Somerset, Plymouth, Poole, South Gloucestershire, Swindon, Torbay, The Isles of Scilly.

West Midlands Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire plus Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall, Wolverhampton, Herefordshire, Stoke-on-Trent, Telford, Wrekin.

Yorkshire and Humber: North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, East Riding of Yorkshire, plus Barnsley, Bradford, Calderdale, Doncaster, Kirklees, Leeds, Rotherham, Sheffield and Wakefield, Kingston upon Hull, York.